NFA invites Young Warriors to camp


The Young Warriors will on Wednesday report for a training camp as they prepare for the upcoming 2017 Confederation of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) under 20 championships to be held in Zambia from 06 to 16 December.

The Namibia Football Association (NFA) are awaiting response for funds to take the team to Zambia from the Ministry of the Sports and in the meantime have called on 30 players to come into camp as of Wednesday 15 November to prepare.

NFA Secretary General Barry Rukoro says invited players should bring along their passport with, those who don't have it must bring their full birth certificate and identify cards.

Hosts and holders Zambia will have to contend with a tricky first round group at the 2017 COSAFA Under-20 Championships after the draw for the pool stage was conducted in Johannesburg on Thursday.

The Young Warriors finds themselves in Group C with Angola, Lesotho and Zimbabwe. The Group of Death in this year’s tournament appears to be Group B as last year’s runners-up South Africa must contend with North African guests Egypt, Mozambique and Mauritius. Group A consist of African champions Zambia, Swaziland, East African guest nation Uganda and Malawi. The top teams in each pool advance to the semifinals along with the best-placed runner-up.

Matches will be played at the Arthur Davies and Nkana stadiums in Kitwe. Angola will also be in action on the opening day against Namibia.

The group stage will be completed on December 12, followed by a rest day, with the semifinals to be staged at the Arthur Davies Stadium on December 14. The third-place play-off and the final will move to the Levy Mwanawasa in Ndola on December 16.

Here is the called up players: Goalkeepers: Calvin Spiegel (Chief Santos) Josef Philipus (Otjiwarongo FC)and Vipua Tjimune (African Stars), Defender: Lubeni Haukongo and Aprocius Petrus (Eleven Arrows), Stanley Ndjavera (Tura Magic), Eric Naobeb (Eastern Chiefs), Ronny Hangala (Oshikoto region), Romario Hawiseb (UNAM FC), Paul Kotjipati (Otjozondjupa), Migeri Hubert (Life Fighters ), Peter Nampolo (Khomas), Johannes Hollambach (Chief Santos), Midfielders: Venovineja Tjikundi and George Hummel (UNAM FC), Anthony Kham, Marciano January and Rivaldo Festus (Eleven Arrows), Augustinus Hobexab (Eastern Chiefs), Jimmy Ulrich (Khomas), Ronaldo Zaahl (Kaizen Football Academy), Forwards: Godwin Awaseb, Eldery Morgan and Enzo Mungendje (Tura Magic), Leonard Tuhafeni (University of Pretoria), Daniel Kamanya (Omusati) and Isaskar Gurirab (Eleven Arrows).